Focus on the Guide

“Look upon me and be merciful to me, as Your custom is toward those who love Your name.  Direct my steps by Your word, and let no iniquity have dominion over me.  Redeem me from the oppression of man, that I may keep Your precepts.  Make Your face shine upon Your servant, and teach me Your statutes.” (Psalm 119:132-135 New King James=NKJV)

How easy for us humans to get entangled in the world’s thinking!  How often we get our focus onto trivia instead of real life!  I saw a report on a near plane crash caused by the pilot’s incorrect focus.  He focused on a minor problem and didn’t see a major problem developing in another area until it was almost too late.  Are there times when I’ve crashed spiritually because I looked away from Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith, instead of looking away from distractions and to Him? (Hebrews 12:2)  Probably so.  Like the psalmist, I pray, Look upon me and be merciful, O Lord.

On craggy cliffs of circumstance, You’re my place of rest.

Through deep emotion valleys, You guide where it’s best.

In relationships, You’re my anchor as I traverse the waves

If I start to sink, I remember that Jesus forgives and saves.

You never leave or let me go, but lead me all my journey through.

Deliver me from the hand of Pride, for all the glory belongs to You,

And help me trust You day by day, from here till I reach heaven’s shore.

For Yours is the power, and You are love, my King forever more.

“Trust in the LORD, and do good; dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.” (Psalm 37:3 NKJV)

Thank You for nourishing me with Your faithfulness, Lord.  Help me follow the steps Your Word directs.  I get discouraged and distracted so easily!  Please keep me centered on You. Amen.

Copyright by Tricia Opitz 5/25/10

Leave a comment

Filed under God's Work in our Lives, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

