Point It Out? (Mercy for My Faults)

The New Living Translation makes Psalms 139:24 so much more personal to me than the King James does:  “Point out anything in me that offends you, [God]….” sounds more direct and applicable than “And see if there be any wicked way in me….”  After all, surely there’s nothing really wicked in my heart–questionable, perhaps, but wicked?  However, if we’re talking about “anything that offends God” (which, of course, is the same thing), well, “Ouch!”
Besides, maybe I’m willing for God to see wrong things in my life, but do I want to endure the discomfort of His pointing it out?  Can’t He just overlook it, or fix it painlessly?  I suppose not.  Overlooking it would only cause me trouble by allowing the enemy a toe-hold.  If God took care of it without showing it to me, how could I keep it out and grow into the person He plans for me to be?
So I pray, Dear Heavenly Father, please point out anything in my life that offends You.  Through the work of Your Holy Spirit, make me pure and useable in Your hands.  Amen.

Father, forgive me.  Lord please forgive me!
I am Your child, Lord, though I’ve gone astray.
O Lord, please receive me, cleanse me, and heal me,
Teach me to walk always in Your pathway.
For that is where true happiness is found.
That’s where I will find life.
You clean me and clothe me with Your righteousness,
And in Your peace I’ll abide.

“Make me walk along the paths of your commands, for that is where my happiness is found.”
(Ps. 119:35 NLT)

Mercy
“We look to the Lord our God for his mercy, just as servants keep their eyes on their master, as a slave girl watches her mistress for the slightest signal.”  (Psalm 123:2 New Living)  “Teach me Thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a level path, because of my foes.” (Psalm 27:11 New American Standard)

Yes, dear Master, as I watch you, please teach me Your way and lead me on a level path. Then I can quickly escape any enemy who would hinder my walk with You.  Amen.

Copyright by Tricia Opitz 5/25/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

