Rescue

“Hungry and thirsty, their soul fainted in them.  Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble, and He delivered them out of their distresses.” (Psalm 107:5-6 New King James=NKJV)

There are times when I’ve cried out to the Lord and didn’t feel that He helped me.  Maybe at those times, I’ve been willing to accept only one kind of help, such as a change in the situation.  Perhaps that’s not how God wanted to help me.  Often He wants to change me instead of changing the circumstances.

Almighty, loving Father, when my soul is hungry and thirsty and faints within me, I will cry out to You.  Help me willingly accept Your deliverance.  If I’m in a flood, may I take the rescue boat You send instead of demanding that the flood go away.  Amen.

“Those who sat in darkness…, bound in affliction and irons because they rebelled against the words of God, and despised the counsel of the Most High…cried out to the LORD in their trouble, and He saved them out of their distresses.” (Psalm 107:10-11, 13 NKJV)  Wow!  Even when I bring trouble on myself, God saves me!

“But the LORD watches over those who fear him, those who rely on his unfailing love. He rescues them from death and keeps them alive in times of famine.” (Psalm 33:18-19 New Living Translation)   Dear Father, teach me to fear You as this verse says, and rescue me.  Amen.

Philippians 2 says that the Holy Spirit works in me to do what pleases God.  I’ve spent a good deal of my life working for the pleasing of others. Now my desire is that instead, I would be a God-pleaser, one who prays, listens, and obeys.

Dear Father, renew my mind by the working of Your Holy Spirit through Your Word.  Let me be transformed from living by the world’s precepts to living with Jesus as King and Lord of every area of my life.  Amen.

The Lord is my hope and salvation.  The Lord is my strength and my song.

Lord You are my strong tower.  I will sing to you all the day long.

You’re my rock in distress times.  You’re my God, and You’re all that I need.

Be my help Lord today; give me grace to walk Your way.

Make me all You want me to be.

Copyright Tricia Opitz 6/28/10

Leave a comment

Filed under God's Work in our Lives

Leave a Reply

