Welcome to the Table

Man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart.  King Saul worried about how he looked to others.  For example, when Samuel talked to him about the Amalekites, he agreed that he’d disobeyed God, but asked Samuel’s help with a sacrifice so he would look good to the people.  I see the same thing in my own life all too often.  I’m sometimes more concerned with what people think of me than with what I really am.  God looks at my heart, and I want a pure heart that pleases Him.  So I pray David’s prayer, Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit in me.

King David showed kindness to Mephibosheth, his friend Jonathan’s son, by including him as a guest at every meal prepared for the king.  This foreshadows God’s kindness to us.  Just as David told Mephibosheth to come and eat at his table for the rest of his life, so God has told us to come and feast at His table now in His Word and forever in heaven.  As Mephibosheth was lame, so we’re crippled by sin.  David’s human limitations kept him from healing Mephibosheth, but God has the power and authority to forgive and cleanse us when we confess our sin to Him.  In our earthly life, we still battle with sin. In heaven, though, we who have accepted Christ’s invitation will be forever rid of sin, never crippled by it again.

God is working with me to make me less like King Saul and more like Jesus, and while He’s working, He says, “Welcome to the table.”

2 Samuel 3:1 New International Version “The war between the house of Saul and the house of David lasted a long time.  David grew stronger and stronger, while the house of Saul grew weaker and weaker.”  And now, O Lord, let Your Spirit living in me take over more and more of my daily life, and let this earth-bound nature become weaker and weaker.  Amen.

Dear Father, I praise and thank You because You bring Your light into my heart and expose the old garbage and dirt that’s lurking there. Then You give me power to bring it out with confession to You, and You forgive and scrub with Jesus’ blood, and it’s gone.  You move Your Holy Spirit into that stronghold left vacant there and raise Your victory flag over it. Now I want to sing bits of a chorus I remember from years ago—“…flag flown high o’er the castle of my heart, for the King is in residence there. Lift it high…. Let the whole world know.” That area of my soul that used send out missiles of fear and anger now houses the King of love and flies the flag of joy from its turrets.

Copyright Tricia Opitz 7/6/10

Leave a comment

Filed under God's Work in our Lives, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

