They Are Reborn!

I learned John 1:12 as a child from the King James Bible: “But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name.”  I wondered if perhaps one (like me) could have that power but not actually become God’s child.  As an adult, I considered other verses in the New Testament that more definitely assured me that I was a child of God.  For example, Gal 3:26 “So you are all children of God through faith in Christ Jesus.”  Also 1 John 3:1 “See how very much our heavenly Father loves us, for he allows us to be called his children, and we really are!” (both New Living Translation)

Then the other day, I read Isaiah 37:3 “…as when children come to the point of birth and there is no strength to deliver them.” (New International Version)  I thought, Hmm…maybe receiving Christ brings God’s power for rebirth.  Then our pastor suggested I check out John. 1:13.  Sure enough, I found that even though verse 12 says only that God gives the right to become His children to those who receive and believe in Christ, verse 13 says right out that those people are reborn.  Hallelujah!

John 1:12-13 “But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. They are reborn! This is not a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan — this rebirth comes from God.” (New Living Translation)

Leave a comment

Filed under Good News, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

