Eternal Love

God never lets us go.  Whatever we do or don’t do, say or don’t say—nothing makes Him quit loving us.  Romans 8:35-39 says that nothing can separate us from God’s love, not even death.  Neither can life or fear or anything else take us away from His love.  And “us” includes me. He loves me unconditionally—through trouble and calamity, in every place, and in spite of all the powers of hell or any created thing that tries to interfere. Jesus says in John 10:27-29 that no one can take His “sheep” (disciples) away from Him.

My own sin might threaten to push away the Father’s love, and Isaiah 59:2 says that our iniquities create a communication barrier between us and God.  Nevertheless, His love provided the sacrifice necessary to remove that barrier.  When I repent (turn from my own way back to Him), asking His forgiveness, then Jesus’ blood cleanses me from anything that has hindered my fellowship with God.

I don’t want to displease God.  But being human, sometimes I do sin.  Still God continues to love me.  So I’ll expose myself to His light and confess my sin and receive His forgiveness and cleansing. (1 John. 1:9) Also I mustn’t confuse His discipline with a loss of love.  Really His discipline is an assurance of His love.  He’s treating me as His own child.

1 John 2:1 “My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if you do sin, there is someone to plead for you before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who pleases God completely.” (New Living Translation)

From Psalms 61 and 62:  My soul finds rest in God alone.  My hope and salvation are from Him.  He is my refuge in the time of storm.  I hide in the shadow of His wing.

Dear Father, Thank You for Your eternal love. Even though at times I’ve been faithless and failed You, You’ve always been faithful and never failed or left me.  I agree with Psalm 66:20:  “Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me.” (New International Version)

Copyright Tricia Opitz 7/27/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Good News, Wonderful God

Leave a Reply

