Music in My Soul

God spoke to my heart though our pastor’s preaching on the book of Ephesians. Verses 17-20 of Chapter 5 made a special impact: “Don’t act thoughtlessly, but try to understand what the Lord wants you to do. …let the Holy Spirit fill and control you. Then you will sing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, making music to the Lord in your hearts. And you will always give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” (New Living Translation)

In my notes I wrote, “When I seek God and let His Holy Spirit fill and control me, my heart will change, leading to music being expressed from my soul. I need to ask God every morning when I wake up to come in and change me. I want to let the Holy Spirit fill my inner being each day.” Later, I penned these lines:

God wants to fill my life with blessed music.
He longs to answer every whispered prayer.
He desires to dance with me each moment.
He knocks and seeks my fellowship to share.

When He comes in, we talk and dine together.
He reveals His lovingkindness and His care.
The walls of my heart echo with laughter
Because of the joy that Jesus has put there.

He says, “You’re Mine and I am yours forever,
And we will surely never ever part.
Come, child, leave your pride and your self-seeking.
And walk with Me in the garden of your heart.”

Copyright Tricia Opitz 7/31/10

Leave a comment

Filed under God's Work in our Lives, Poems and Songs, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

