A Fine Mess

One day, going home from work, I felt tired, upset, and angry. I was reminded of what Mr. Hardy said to Mr. Laurel (who was rarely at fault) in some of their films, “This is a fine mess you’ve gotten us into!” I seemed to be in a pretty fine mess myself.

Then that old question, “What would Jesus do?” came to mind. The thought popped up that Jesus wouldn’t have gotten Himself into this trouble in the first place. Following that, however, came a few Scriptures to help me turn my thinking around:

Psalm 23:4 reminds me that God is with me.

Psalm 73:28 says that the nearness of God is my good.

God said He would never desert or forsake us in Hebrews 13:5.

In Isaiah 41:10, God says that He will uphold us with His “righteous right hand.”

So even though Jesus wouldn’t have had these problems on His own, He is with me in them. Now what would He do? He would seek God’s kingdom first (Matthew 6), do good to all, especially to fellow believers (Galatians 6), trust the Father whole-heartedly, think on good things, always be thankful, say nothing unwholesome, but only what builds up, etc. So that’s what I need to do also.

Thank You, Father, for guiding my thoughts in Your direction. By Your grace, I’ll bless You at all times, and Your praise will continually be in my mouth. Amen.

Copyright Tricia Opitz 8/3/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

