Walk in the Light

“But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.” (1 John 1:7 New King James)

I must be honest with God, myself, and others if I’m to have true fellowship. It’s as I face truth about my sin that I can appropriate the cleansing of the blood of Jesus.

Confess→ Repent→ Return to trusting God wholeheartedly. This is the pathway to peace of heart and mind. Is there sin in some thought or deed that keeps me agitated? I’ll ask the Holy Spirit to show me the truth, and He will.

Suspend the Law of Gravity?

Once I talked myself into entering a sinful path by thinking that for a lot of people this behavior was wrong, but surely my case was exceptional. Besides this must be okay since I really didn’t see a good alternative. Maybe God’s laws really didn’t apply in this situation. I thought of other excuses as well. That kind of reasoning resembles thoughts of someone standing on a cliff wanting to jump to the rocks below and thinking maybe the law of gravity could be repealed or at least suspended for a while so he could fly down and not get hurt.

In that situation, I did stumble and fall, but God’s Holy Spirit dealt with me until I repented and returned to God’s way. How grateful I am for God’s mercy! I confessed my sin and my wrong thinking to Him, and He graciously forgave and cleansed me because of the blood of Christ.

Copyright Tricia Opitz 10/31/10

2 Comments

Filed under God's Work in our Lives

2 responses to “Walk in the Light

  1. Carla

    Tricia, these are all excellent. I love the poem about lilacs but I never knew your Mother’s name was Olive.
    You are truly free with your gift and I love that.

Leave a Reply

