God’s Will

God’s Will

When the people asked Jesus what God’s will for them was, He told them, “This is what God wants you to do: Believe in the one he has sent.”  John 6:29 New Living Translation

Your will, O God, is for us to believe in the One You sent to set us free,

And so my Lord, I choose to receive Jesus Who came to rescue me.

I’ll trust and listen and obey and follow Him in the homeward way.

So let Your Spirit work, I pray, to conform me to Your will today.

He worked it in—I work it out.

Philippians 2:12-13 “So then, my beloved, just as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure. (New American Standard)

God has worked His salvation in me. He’s given me a heart of flesh instead of dead stone. He’s working in me to want and do what pleases Him. So now I’m to work that out into my life. He gives the instruction and the power. My job is to listen and obey. As I do this, I become a light in this dark world.

Thank You for salvation, Father. Please teach me to hold out Your light to others. Amen.

Copyright by Tricia Opitz 11/28/10

3 Comments

Filed under God's Work in our Lives, Poems and Songs

3 responses to “God’s Will

  1. dove124

    Is that all ? just believe and we are saved? …..Are you sure?

    • Thanks for asking.
      Paul writes in Romans 10:9 and 13, “For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. …13 For anyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” (New Living Translation)
      So yes, “all” we must do to be saved is believe, but that is more than just mental assent to a fact. Believing involves letting go of our own ways and trusting and following Jesus wholeheartedly as He leads through this life and onward to heaven.
      Have you read Billy Graham’s “Steps to Peace with God” or Bill Bright’s “The Four Spiritual Laws”? They give several Scriptures pertaining to salvation, such as John 3:16 (God want us to have eternal life), Romans 5:1 (Everyone is separated from God’s life by sin), Ephesians 1:7 (Forgiveness was purchased through Christ’s blood), and John 1:12 (Receive Christ to become God’s child).
      God will show the truth to anyone who asks Him about salvation (or anything else) and who is willing to listen. He often answers with His Word, the Bible. May God open your ears to hear what He says to you as you seek Him.
      Tricia

  2. Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog post. May God open our eyes to truth as we truly seek HIM.

Leave a Reply

