Listen to Instructions

“But God speaks again and again, though people do not recognize it.” (Job 33:14 New Living Translation=NLT)

Dear Father, often You have spoken, and I didn’t recognize it. Thank You for still loving me and never letting me go and continuing to speak to me. Please open my ears to hear You. Open my eyes to truth.

Exodus 23:2 and 15 “Do not follow the crowd in doing wrong….”  “…No one is to appear before me empty-handed.” (both New International Version)

God gave His people these instructions after He brought them out of Egypt. Do they apply to me also? Certainly the ideas apply to me. I mustn’t follow the crowd in doing wrong—as the Israelites did when the ten spies brought back a bad report on the threshold of the Promised Land. And I shouldn’t come to God empty-handed. I should bring praise and thanksgiving at the very least. Furthermore, I should bring a willing heart of faith. “…It is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that there is a God and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him. (Hebrews 11:6 NLT)”

In following these instructions, the Israelites were acknowledging God’s power and lordship. I want to do that too. Besides that, I want to show my love for God by obeying Him. Jesus told us in John 14:15 to keep His commandments if we love Him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

