Out of the Rat Race

Sometimes I see in myself a selfish, competitive spirit that wants always to be the center of attention or to be the only one noticed and approved. Please forgive and cleanse me, Father.

I should remember that this walk with Christ isn’t a rat race where I need to push ahead of others so I can “win.” This is a team project where we can encourage others and be encouraged by them. It is forward progress of a body, the body of Christ. In this life, where Christ’s body moves forward toward completion, we experience what Paul talked about when he said that if one part of the body is hurt, all feel the pain, and if one part receives blessing and honor, all partake in it.

If I’ll recall these truths consistently, I’ll become less competitive and more cooperative, less selfish and more generous.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

