New Wineskins

In Mark 2:22, Jesus talked about putting new wine into new wineskins. Maybe Christ’s life in me could compare to the new wine. Then I would want God to make me into a fresh and flexible new wineskin. So I pray, Father, please cause me to change from my old inflexible patterns to becoming the new creation in Christ that You want me to be. Amen.

I want to quit trying to keep all the rules, get “right” answers, do all my “ought-to’s.” Instead I want to get real with God and learn to listen to His instruction and obey Him. I can hear His voice in my heart, in Scripture, in sermons, in books, or whatever other way He wants to speak to me. Yes, I want to let go of “ought-to” so I can learn real living. I want to leave behind formulas so I can progress in relationship to God and others.

© Tricia Opitz Feb. 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

