What’s It All About?

One thing I continue to discover is that life isn’t about me—my comfort, honor, importance, or things.  It’s about God. Jesus died and rose again so I could live for Him, the One Who gave Himself for me (2 Corinthians 5:15), instead of for myself.

Also, Romans 6:13-14 tells me not to let any part of my body be used for sinning. I should use my whole body as a tool to do what’s right for God’s glory. It says that sin isn’t my master because I’m “no longer subject to the law, which enslaves [me] to sin. Instead, [we] are free by God’s grace.” (From the New Living Translation)

As one who has received God’s gift of salvation, I’m to consider myself dead to sin and alive to God. That’s because I shouldn’t live by the strength of my flesh to obey a lot of rules (law), but instead I need to grow in my relationship with Jesus Christ. I can rely on His wisdom and strength to live in a way that honors God.

Then, I Corinthians 6:19-20 reminds me, “…You are not your own. For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.” (New King James)

I belong to God now, body and spirit. He is the Master, and I am the slave—not the other way around. He’s my God, Father, Redeemer, Savior and Restorer. I’m His person, child, redeemed, saved, and restored. Also, at His invitation, He and I are friends. Even though He owns me, I’m not in bondage. Jesus has set me free from sin and self so I can live at liberty in Him.

Therefore, I no longer have any obligation, or even any right, to serve myself or indulge my cravings. Sin and self are denied the privilege of ruling over me. I belong to Jesus, and I want to live for Him as I should.

I’m not my own. I’m redeemed at great price.

I’m bought with the blood of Jesus Christ.

My spirit and body belong to God on high,

So He’s the One I’ll serve and glorify.

© Tricia Opitz Feb. 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

