Authority

The Bible tells us to pray for all who are in authority so we can live quiet, godly lives in peace and dignity (1 Timothy 2:1-4).  We who are called by God’s name are to humble ourselves and pray and seek God’s face and turn from our wicked ways (2 Chronicles 7:14-15).  My flesh wants to try to control people and circumstances when I see disturbing things all around me.  However, Scriptures indicate that prayer is the godly response.  So when I get upset or fearful about what’s going on and forget to trust God, I should say with the 12 disciples, “Jesus, teach [me] to pray!”

Teach me to pray for our leaders, Lord, because “the floods of ungodliness [in our country] made me afraid.”(Psalm 18:4, New King James)  You are my hope and refuge, Father.  I’ll trust in You.  Your Word says to pray for all those in authority with requests, prayers, intercession, and thanksgiving.  Thank You for the good You’ve placed in each one.  I pray that You would strengthen the good, and that godly people will be raised to positions of authority in our land. Please be merciful to our authorities and to us.  Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prayer

Leave a Reply

