God’s Wings

Ruth 2:12 says that Ruth has come under the wings of the Lord God of Israel for refuge. Several Psalms talk about God’s wings as shelter (Psalms 17:8, 36:7, 57:1, 61:3-4, 63:7, and 91:4). Malachi 4:2 says, “But for you who fear my name, the Sun of Righteousness will rise with healing in his wings. And you will go free, leaping with joy like calves let out to pasture.” [New Living Translation (NLT)] Jesus Himself says, “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, the city that kills the prophets and stones God’s messengers! How often I have wanted to gather your children together as a hen protects her chicks beneath her wings, but you wouldn’t let me.” (NLT, Matthew 23:37, also in Luke)

What a blessed thought—to find refuge under God’s “wings”! What do I need refuge from? Perhaps the sin that easily creeps into my life or the fears that keep me from being and doing all God wants or discouragement that threatens. I can find safety even from these things, since I’ve come to God through Christ, by trusting in Him with all my heart. Like Ruth, I will come under the wings of the Lord God of Israel for security. Or as Psalm 91:4 says in the King James Version, He will cover me with His feathers, and under His wings I will trust.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wonderful God

Leave a Reply

