Nothing Will Hurt There

Psalm 119:133 “Direct my steps by Your word, and let no iniquity have dominion over me.” (New King James)

One day as I confessed my sins to God, I thought of many things I’d done which hurt others or caused destruction. I wrote several of them down and asked God’s forgiveness and cleansing according to His promise in 1 John 1:9. These behaviors which I recall with regret and shame resulted partly from my human brokenness. They were my human way instead of God’s way, reflecting a heart of unbelief and a failure to trust God.

When I react to people in anger and frustration, that’s human, not godly. God’s way is patient, longsuffering, and kind—it’s love. When I believe God really loves me, and I trust Him to help me with whatever I experience, I’ll obey Him in showing His love to others. [Ephesians 5:1-2 “Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us….” (New King James)]

Thank You, Father, that you loved me through all of this. Thank You for the coming day when everything will be made right, when mortality will be swallowed up in life, and when I won’t be hurt or hurt anyone or destroy anything ever again.

Isaiah 11:9 “Nothing will hurt or destroy in all My holy mountain….” (New Living)

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

