God’s Presence–My Peace

Our sun, approximately 864,000 miles in diameter (108 times the diameter of earth) appears as a mere dinner plate in our sky because of the 93 million miles between it and us. Likewise the stars (massive suns of other systems) look like pinpoints on our night canopy because they are many times farther from us than even our sun.

In thinking about these facts, I remembered a Christian song in which the singer didn’t want to worship God from a long distance, but rather right in His presence. It’s true that God is always and everywhere present, closer than my next breath, but often my awareness of Him gets blocked by myriad distractions, and He appears far away. Then He seems too small to make a difference in my life.

Nevertheless, His promise that He will draw near to me as I draw near to Him (James 4:8) pulls my thoughts back to His closeness. Once again I can rest in His presence and delight myself in Him Who is everything I’ll ever need or want and more.

“But the salvation of the righteous is from the LORD; He is their strength in the time of trouble. And the LORD shall help them and deliver them; He shall deliver them from the wicked, and save them, because they trust in Him.” –Psalm 37:39-40 New King James Version (NKJV)

It appears that “the righteous” are the ones who trust in the LORD, Yahweh, for salvation, strength, help in trouble, and deliverance from the wicked. Oh let me be that kind of righteous! And God is absolutely trustworthy. He will fulfill all His promises. He promised never to leave or fail or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5). Also, “The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” –Psalm 118:6 NKJV

If I’ll learn to be continually aware of God’s presence with me, I’ll become steadfast and immovable, always abounding in God’s work. (1 Corinthians 15:58)

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

