Unite for the Light

The way my eyes function gives me a picture of my efforts to focus on God. My left (physical) eye is very weak and contributes little to my vision. My right (physical) eye is stronger and contributes much to my visual perception, but alone it sees less than what the two eyes focused together can see. This picture makes me desire that the weaker parts of my spirit would focus on Jesus, together with the stronger parts, instead of looking around for what might look good to human understanding. Then I’ll have that “single eye” that Jesus talked about which will fill me with light. “The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.” (Matthew 6:22) “…unite my heart to fear thy name.” (Psalm 86:11) (both King James Version)

This picture also shows me how the body of Christ should work, as the apostle Paul wrote in Romans 12 and 1 Corinthians 12. Those who feel weaker in faith need to work united in focus on Christ, together with those who seem stronger, so we can fulfill the purposes which God has planned for Jesus’ body.

O what mighty things the Lord can accomplish through His body as we all learn to unite in Him!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

