God’s Peace

The Peace of God

Colossians 3:15 (New King James) “And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.” The New Living translates that verse as, “And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are all called to live in peace. And always be thankful.” As part of the body of Christ, I’m called to peace, and I’m to let God’s peace rule in my heart and to be thankful. What does it look like when people let God’s peace rule? Some teachers have said it means that we don’t do anything until we have peace in our hearts about it. But I wonder. Peace of God, peace from Christ—what does that mean?

Maybe this is what God is saying to me: “Know you are reconciled to God through Christ. Your sins are forgiven. You are totally loved. Don’t let anything bring turmoil to your heart. Find rest for your soul in Christ. Then you can interact with others from a generous heart, needing to take nothing from them because Christ is all-sufficient for you.”

Off the Path

God set me on His right pathway,

But I wandered off, went my own way.

I’m miserable in this miry deep.

Do you think I could still humbly creep

Back to the cross and really find

Peace again of heart and soul and mind?

Yes, friend, I do. God’s Word says so.

There’s forgiveness with the Lord, you know.

Christ’s blood still covers every sin.

In Him we can begin again.

Each sunrise brings a fresh new day

With mercies sweet, so return to God’s way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living, Good News, Poems and Songs, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

