Thought Corral

By Your grace, Lord, I’ll round up all my wild thoughts, which are like mustangs allowed to roam the plains for many years past. I’ll bring them to enclose within Your fences and to be branded with Your character. You, O Lord, are God alone, but my thoughts wander from You, the living God, so often that I’ll need to lasso them one by one. Otherwise, I could never get them into Your corral at all.

You keep in perfect peace the one whose mind is stayed on You because he/she trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3, paraphrase

As I said, so few of my thoughts are centered on God that I need to corral the whole batch somehow and bring every thought captive to the obedience of Jesus Christ. I asked the Lord for some tips on how to keep my mind stayed on Him.

I thought about Prov. 3:6—Acknowledge God in all your ways, and He will direct your paths. So this might help: When I do anything, even a small thing, I can choose to do it as unto the Lord and acknowledge Him in it. Also, my ears tend to perk up when others are conversing, so I need God’s help to close my ears to things that are none of my business. I want to be very careful in my own conversations to say only what builds up and what is beneficial. In addition, it’s important, when I listen in a situation, that I let God tune my ears to consider what would please or displease Him, and think appropriately about those things.

Now, where is that lasso?

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives

Leave a Reply

