I’ll Dare to Believe

At times in my Christian life, I’ve been like the seed tossed onto hard soil which sprouted and sprang up quickly, but had no root, so it withered away just as quickly. God would give me a thought, but I was afraid to act because I might be “wrong.” Or He let me see an answer to prayer, and I got really excited and gladly received it. Then the next day I was back to struggling on my own.

I want to change. I want to really listen to God and grow to be the person He planned for me to be. So what has kept me from developing the roots I need to grow and produce fruit? It could be unbelief/lack of faith.

Hebrews 4:2a in the Amplified Bible says, “For indeed we have had the glad tidings [Gospel of God] proclaimed to us just as truly as they [the Israelites of old did when the good news of deliverance from bondage came to them]; but the message they heard did not benefit them, because it was not mixed with faith….”

I knew all the right words and accepted them intellectually as true. But many times they were only words to me. I couldn’t lean on them and take them into my heart. Now, somewhat like the father in Mark 9:24, I cry out, “Lord Jesus, I believe sometimes. Please help me believe more!”

I’ve read that believing is a choice I make. Will I dare to believe the truth or keep listening to the doubts that have tripped me up over and over? From time to time I’ve struggled with the truths that God is always with me, communicates to me, loves me unconditionally as an individual, and totally forgives all my sin. Because He gives me grace, I’ve decided to believe these things. I can deepen my faith by reminding myself often of them. That will help to renew my mind so I can truly believe with my heart (Romans 12:2).

© Tricia Opitz Jan.-Dec. 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Scripture

Leave a Reply

