The Garden in the Valley

God had planted lush vegetation in a valley in my life, but I let sin come in. It blasted craters in the valley. At first I tried to hide the charred and blackened holes and pretended they weren’t there.

Then I learned to confess my sin to the Lord. The assurance of His forgiveness reduced burned remnants to powder and blew them away. Then He began to scrub the stained bedrock with the blood of Jesus so that little by little even the stains left behind had disappeared.

Finally His grace began to restore lushness to the valley so He and I can walk together there.

“But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong.” 1 John 1:9 New Living Translation (NLT)

“Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a right spirit within me. 12 Restore to me again the joy of your salvation….” Psalm 51:10, 12 NLT

“Garden in the Valley” © Tricia Opitz Jan.-Dec. 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Good News, Wonderful God

Leave a Reply

