Abundant Life

“I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” (John 10:10 New King James)

The abundant life Jesus came to give us is much more than I had thought. I receive it as I draw closer to Him. I experience more of that life when I make Him and His work my top priority instead of continuing to try to manage life and circumstance my own way.

Abundant life for me includes freedom from some things, like addictions, compulsions, fear of disapproval that makes me dishonest, worry, anger, jealousy, the desire to get all the attention and approval, self-focus, greed, hoarding, obsessions, and the drive to control everything from ink pens to people. It also includes freedom to –enjoy God, appreciate His blessings, love others, and experience peace of heart and soul.

Dear Lord, You extend many invitations to me for banquets where You want to pour out Your love and draw me closer to Yourself so I can have more of that life overflowing. Often I’ve let the world drown out Your voice or thought I was too busy to come to the banquet. But I don’t want to miss another one! By Your grace, I won’t waste a minute responding to Your call. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Jesus, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

