The Truth about Life

Some of our pastor’s comments about Memorial Day made me think about what I consider important. I tend to be a people-pleaser, thinking I must do or say the things that win the approval of others. Sometimes I get into pride over personal or professional accomplishments.

But do any of these things really matter? Will my profit and loss and net worth statements be tacked onto my casket? What about college degrees and awards or perhaps a list of the people I’ve pleased here on earth? Will a picture of the house I lived in or an account of songs I listened to or sang or books I liked or wrote be tucked inside my coffin? Of course not!

No, I didn’t bring anything into this world, and I’ll leave everything behind when I depart. When my body is the one they’re looking at as the funeral ends, the only things that will be important then are my relationship with God and my choice to follow His Son Jesus Christ.

So I want to make those things most important now.

 

Dust we are and to dust returning.

What seems important now won’t matter then.

So let’s call on God while we’re still living

And pursue His goals, not those of women or men.

 

The casket holds no degrees, awards, diplomas,

No statement of financial worth.

We leave this world just as we entered—

Owning no more than we did at birth.

So let’s live for Jesus,

And following Him, take up our cross,

Laying our treasures up in heaven

Where there’s no corruption, decay, or loss.

“Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where they can be eaten by moths and get rusty, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven, where they will never become moth-eaten or rusty and where they will be safe from thieves.” –Matthew 6:19-20 New Living Translation

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Good News, Jesus, Poems and Songs

Leave a Reply

