What Satisfies a Hungry Heart?

I’ve often sung an old hymn that said, “[Jesus] satisfies my longings as nothing else can do,” but I’ve sometimes lived as though it weren’t true. I’ve tried to get people, accomplishments, events, or things to fill my hungry heart. In most cases I found disappointment, and always less than lasting satisfaction. In addition, when God did fulfill a particular desire, something else seemed to jump up to stand in the way of my contentment.

But what if I did let go of my hopes and expectations? Maybe that would make room in my heart for God to satisfy my soul with something “superabundantly, far over and above all that (I) [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond (my) highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]” (From Ephesians 3:20 Amplified Bible).  What if God wants to “fill my cup” with more than I can even imagine—something of eternal value? If I believe He does, that would make it easier to let go of the desires I’ve clung to.

Maybe these scriptures would also help: 1 Timothy 6:6 “…godliness accompanied with contentment is great and abundant gain.” Hebrews 13:5 “Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money…and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God]  Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor  give you up nor leave you without support….” (Both quotes Amplified Bible)

God’s presence is more than enough in any situation, and what He wants for me is worth far more than the rubbish that I thought I absolutely had to have.

 

Post Script: I’ve also heard a song that says, “Only Jesus can satisfy your soul” and “You’ll never find true satisfaction until you’ve found the Lord.” I thought it was talking only about salvation and going to heaven since Jesus is the Way to the Father, the only way. Now I see it can apply to more. One only finds true satisfaction when one finds Jesus in the place(s) where the soul felt dry and thirsty.

© Tricia Opitz Jan.-Dec. 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives, Jesus, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

