Decisions! Decisions!

I dislike having to make decisions because I worry that I’ll make the “wrong” choice. My experience over the years shows that all too often I’ve chosen ways that I end up regretting. So why do I regret what I’ve decided? Sometimes it’s because other people are angry at how I’ve dealt with a situation. Other times it’s just that I’m miserable with the results of my choice. Or I look over at the roads I didn’t take and think they look better and “if only” I’d chosen that way, then….

“If I ascend into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me.” –Psalm 139:8-10 New King James Version

Maybe God is telling me with these verses that no matter where my decisions land me, His Spirit is there. I can rest in Him and trust His guidance even in that place. God is there where I am. If I look to Him in trust instead of leaning on those old ways of thinking about the past and what I probably “should have done,” He gives me peace. He helps me remember things like, “Other people’s anger is their problem, not mine.” He reminds me that He satisfies my soul, that He’s more than enough, and that He loves me and will never leave or forsake me. Then I can relax because my Father is there, and He cares for me (1 Peter 5:7).

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Christian, Christian Living, Scripture Thoughts

One response to “Decisions! Decisions!

  1. robind333

    Wonderful and inspiring message..I’ve nominated your site for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award….Many, many blessings to you. Just follow the link below….
    http://mychristiancoffeeshop.wordpress.com/?p=5035&preview=true

Leave a Reply

