A Lamp for My Feet

Psalm 34:4 (King James Version) “I sought the Lord, and He heard me and delivered me from all my fears.”

Fear of rejection makes me dishonest with others. Fear of future lack makes me hoard. Fear of missing out makes me greedy and gullible to advertising. I’ll seek You, Lord, because I long to be delivered from my fears and resulting sin!

Psalm 73:23b* “You hold me by my right hand.”

        Thank You, Father, for holding me up when I would fall.

Psalm 73:24* “You will guide me with Your counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.”

        Thank You for guiding me through this life. Oh may I pay more attention to Your guidance! Thank You for this promise to receive me into glory when my life on earth is over.

Psalm 73:28* “But it is good for me to draw near to God, that I may declare all Your works.”

        Thank You for drawing near to me and letting me come near to You. Please teach me to trust You more, and please open my eyes to opportunities to declare Your works. Amen.

Psalm 119:134* “Redeem me from the oppression of man that I may keep Your precepts.”

How many times have I let emotional pressure from other people cause me to make poor or even sinful choices? Too many, I’m sure! Please redeem me, Lord

Ps. 127:1 (New Living Translation) “Unless the Lord builds a house, the work of the builders is wasted. Unless the Lord protects a city, guarding it with sentries will do no good.”

Unless God commissions and approves what I do, my own efforts will be wasted, and I won’t accomplish a desired result. Lord, let me always seek and listen to Your guidance instead of doing what I want or what I think would be best.

*New King James Version

6 Comments

Filed under Christian, Prayer, Scripture

6 responses to “A Lamp for My Feet

  1. robind333

    Absolutely beautiful..Many, many blessings to you and thank you for sharing….Robin

  2. Hi Tricia, I love your honesty and yes the fear of rejection is indeed great but you can’t build a friendship on pretence or lies, or even game playing, which is still dishonesty and does not reflect the heart of God and being in Christ Jesus means we are to reflect His nature, for us it is a choice and He does the empowering so we do.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

  3. I’ve found that until I seek the Lord, I don’t even recognize that I’m letting fear of rejection take hold. He’s showing me more and more where I’ve been dishonest because of the fear, so I can repent and receive His help to change.
    God’s blessings,
    Tricia

  4. Hi Tricia it was the same with me, I have always had a good sense of humour but at one time even though I was known as Happy Annie, I was really very unhappy, I was indeed invited to many parties to keep them laughing as they say but I was afraid to be me.

    I’m a deep thinker and very analytical which I thank God for now but I had to put on a lighted hearted front that all was well, mostly I was very lonely and hurting but now I’m not afraid to be serious and I laugh with others too when my humour gets going, God gave us the gift of Laughter, it lifts us in the good times and lightens our load in the hard times but there is a time for everything and being serious it just as important, we don’t have to be Happy Clappy all the time, we can be real.

    Christian Love Anne

  5. Right you are. God is so good and patient with us! I’m so thankful!
    Christian love, Tricia

Leave a Reply

