Judgment Day–Link and Thoughts

Anne of freedomborn sent me this link to her post on “Judgment Day” and mentioned that many believers felt needless fear and shame. It is a reassuring post.

http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/judgment-day/

Many of my own struggles with fear about judgment day concerned these Bible verses: 2 Corinthians 5:9-10 “So we make it our goal to please [Christ], whether we are at home in the body or away from it. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.” And Romans 14:10 “You, then, why do you judge your brother? Or why do you look down on your brother? For we will all stand before God’s judgment seat.” (All New International Version) (In some versions, Romans 14:10 says that we will all stand before “the judgment seat of Christ.”)

I read a book by David Shibley titled Living As if Heaven Matters. It stirred up a lot of old fears and got me thinking about what it would be like to stand before Jesus at His coming or when God called me home. I thought of many times in my life when I’ve been selfish and/or unloving  since receiving Jesus as my Savior when I was a child. I remembered very poor choices I’d made and opportunities to represent Christ well which I missed because of my self-focus.

Regret and fear threatened to overwhelm me, and it wasn’t until after an intense time of prayer that I regained a sense of peace and joy in Christ. I believe God reminded me that I’d confessed my sins and received forgiveness. All that sin is forgiven and removed as far as east from west, forgotten, blotted out and  taken away (Psalm 103:12, Isaiah 43:25, John 1:29). He also showed me that missed opportunities are just that–missed chances to lay up treasure in heaven (Matthew 6:20). Furthermore, good things done for wrong motives are the wood, hay, and stubble that will burn up on “that Day” (1 Corinthians 3:12-14). And as for those poor choices, there’s nothing that can be done about them except to leave them at the cross and live for Jesus today and each day, forgetting what lies behind and pressing on toward the call of God in Christ (Philippians 3:13-14).

As I seek to bring glory and honor to Christ in everything from now on, I will build with gold, silver and precious stones on the solid foundation of Jesus Christ.

2 Comments

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Recommended blog posts of others, Scripture, Scripture Thoughts

2 responses to “Judgment Day–Link and Thoughts

  1. Thank you Tricia for linking back to me and for your teachable and humble spirit that is willing to hear what God is saying to your heart. As I shared on my Blog I’m pleased you feel reassured and as I shared it is because many don’t understand when and where is the Judgment seat of Christ and that it is not in Heaven or when we die physically for Christians we have been pardoned already, they also don’t understand about the Kingdom of God within us so they feel condemned, sad but True.

    In reference to Romans 14 and 2 Corinthians 5 they highlight other great Truths, we are not to judge others with fleshy understanding or without Love and compassion , and in regard to their eternal destiny, only God knows their heart they may come to real repentance on their deathbed. But God does tell us to rebuke and warn those who sin in the Church and we will if we Love them but we do so with God’s Truth and with remembrance that we also were sinners and saved by Grace.

    Wow your right if your thinking it won’t always be appreciated, Jesus warned us it wouldn’t, itching ears will only appreciate with what agrees with their fleshy agenda and understanding and they will condemn us for sharing God’s Truth but it will not return to Him void there will always be good fruit and those who will welcome it thankfully.

    I know though without God’s Wisdom we wont understand the Scriptures as a complete picture and so we will be in error, I will leave you a link about Gaining wisdom.

    Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

    Blog Post – http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/category/woman-of-kingdom-wisdom/

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  2. Thanks for your comment and the link. I’ll take a look as soon as I get a chance.
    Christian love,
    Tricia

Leave a Reply

