Preparing to Resist

Matthew 4:1-11 tells about Jesus’ 40-day fast in the wilderness and then being tempted by the devil there. When Satan came with his temptations, Jesus stood fast in the truth. He trusted God the Father and didn’t lean on His human understanding. The tempter quoted Scripture, but he used it for his own ends instead of as God intended. Jesus “rightly divided the Word of truth” and withstood the temptations.

Jesus_Tempted--Chr Unit

So how did Jesus know when to use which verse to resist temptation? He knew because He knew the heart of the Scripture. He’d learned the Scriptures as a boy, but He learned more than just words. He learned the intent and the depth of the words. Then when He spent that focused time with His Father during His fast, His discernment was sharpened, and He was refreshed in the Holy Spirit. When the devil finished his tempting, angels came and ministered to Jesus.

When the enemy comes knocking in my points of vulnerability, I want to be like Jesus in being close to the Father with His full spiritual armor on so I can stand in the evil day. Whatever I face, may I know in the depths of my heart, beyond doubt, that God is good, and His ways are best. (See also, Proverbs 3:5-6, 2 Timothy 2:15, and Ephesians 6:1-10.)   armor-z1

Because Your Word is true,

And Your ways are best,

Jesus let me obey You

No matter what the test.

Be Lord of all my life,

Of all I say and do.

Work in my heart, Spirit of Christ,

To make me more like You.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Christian, Jesus, Scripture Thoughts

One response to “Preparing to Resist

  1. Hi Tricia, I nominated you for the “Blog of the Year 2012” Award! God Bless, Lori
    http://lorischulz.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/

Leave a Reply

