Just Do It!

Moses tells the Israelites, “Do not add to or subtract from these commands I am giving you. Just obey the commands of the Lord your God that I am giving you.” (Deuteronomy 4:2 New Living Translation)
Just do it. Don’t add to or subtract from—just obey. Since I love Jesus, I’ll obey His commands. I’ll listen to His voice. I’ll trust Him with all my heart and not lean on my own understanding. (John 10:4 and 14:15; Proverbs 3:5-6)
Human understanding might add to His commands with extra rules and laws that we hope will keep us from “getting close to” disobedience. The things we add put distance between us and Jesus. We start relying on rules and rituals to try to get right with God and make life work instead of living from the richness of God’s love. Manmade religious laws have the potential also of deceiving us into thinking we’re pleasing God when actually we’re going our own ways and seeking to please ourselves.
Subtracting from the Lord’s commands might be “partial” obedience. For example, I would love others as myself unless they usually acted hateful toward me. Or I’d trust God in everything except when I don’t understand the why of a circumstance.
Since I’m human, I can’t obey Jesus perfectly, but as His Holy Spirit works in me, I learn to obey Him more and more. I want the kind of closeness with Jesus that gives me the desire and empowers me to do and say what pleases God. (Philippians 2:13)
stone tablets 1- Christian clickart

10 Comments

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Scripture, Scripture Thoughts

10 responses to “Just Do It!

  1. Excellent. Sad to say that many Christians do not even know God’s basic commands these days. [“My people perish for lack of knowledge.” Hosea, I think] http://textsincontext.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/teaching-children-the-ten-commandments/

  2. Hi Tricia, thank you for highlighting a very important Truth, sadly it is True that man made rules have always been in some Churches and of course are very much part of the Cults but in some other Churches your encouraged to ignore even God’s guidelines and told that their works instead of obedience.

    To be honest, I Love even those who hurt me because I hurt God and others very badly, because I too was hurting.

    Only Jesus can live the Christian Life in us, that is why we must become less or decrees, John3:30 this is referring to our fleshy nature which Paul talked about in despair Romans 7 but explains in Romans 8 that so Jesus to have full control, we are to put our flesh to death by the empowering of The Holy Spirit, this is confirmed in Scripture quiet a few times. We are not only Human when we are Born again we have God’s seed, His nature which is Holy 1 John3:9 so we do not sin, we are ………

    1 Peter 2:9-10 But ye are a chosen Generation, a Royal Priesthood, an Holy Nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvellous light; Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.

    John 3: 30 He must increase, but I must decrease.

    Galatians 2:20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  3. Thanks for your comments, Anne. Yes, Christ lives in me–my hope of glory (Colossians 1:27), my hope of becoming all God wants me to be. But I’m not perfect yet. I don’t deliberately sin, but there are times when I fail to put my flesh to death or when I’ve not listened to God’s instruction, or I haven’t resisted temptation as I should have. Praise God those times are becoming fewer as I mature as a believer, but I won’t be perfect until I go to be with Jesus.
    Richest blessings,
    Tricia

  4. Hi again Trica, for many years I listened to others or believed what I thought was True and did not accept the correction of Scripture, to be honest I didn’t really understand the Big picture it paints, just bits and pieces like a jigsaw puzzle but then I asked for God’s wisdom and I believed I had received it wwhich is what He tells us to and Jesus is teaching me His Truth by the empowering of The Holy Spirit who passes on all Truth from God.

    We do not keep putting our flesh to death till we die or do we keep sinning, there is no Scripture that confirms this error to be True, we choose to die daily to our selfish flesh by the empowering of The Spirit till it’s put to death and we are perfected in Love and this is before we die not after as the Scriptures below confirm.This Truth is not often taught today although is clearly confirmed in Scripture, perhaps people can’t see the difference from worldly perfection and God’s which we are to aim for or do they know the difference from weakness and shortcomings and the difference from what God calls sin and fleshy man’s rules and regulations.

    2Corinthians 13:11 Finally, brethren, farewell. Be perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in Peace; and the God of Love and Peace shall be with you.

    1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    Matthew 5:48 Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in Heaven is perfect.

    Philippians 3:14-16 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you. Nevertheless, where to we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing.

    1John 3 : 9 No one who is Born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been Born of God.

    1 John 3: 1-11 ( 6-7 ) Whosoever abideth in Him sinneth not: whosoever sinneth hath not seen Him, neither known Him. Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as He is righteous.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    • Thanks for your response and the extra Scriptures, Anne. I guess I’m not understanding what you’re saying in your responses to my posts. Are you saying that you always love perfectly now, and that your walk with Christ needs no improvement? Do you walk so close to God that you never give in to temptation or never think you’re doing right only to find out later that you messed up or that you always make the choice to die to the selfish flesh? Or are you saying that these things aren’t sins that we need to confess to God and receive forgiveness for?
      From the Amplified Bible, 2 Corinthians 13:11 starts, “Finally, brethren, farewell (rejoice)! Be strengthened (perfected, completed, made what you ought to be)….”
      Philippians 3:14-15 in the same version says, “I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward. So let those [of us] who are spiritually mature and full-grown have this mind and hold these convictions; and if in any respect you have a different attitude of mind, God will make that clear to you also.”
      So I can see that we can be “spiritually mature/full grown (perfect) before we die, but I question whether the Bible tells us that we can get to the place that we behave perfectly all the time before we die.
      Again from the Amplified Bible, 1 John 3:9 says, “No one born (begotten) of God [deliberately, knowingly, and habitually] practices sin, for God’s nature abides in him [His principle of life, the divine sperm, remains permanently within him]; and he cannot practice sinning because he is born (begotten) of God.” This Bible version “amplifies” many words so we can better understand what the original language said. I can see that certainly the true Christian could never “deliberately, knowingly, and habitually practice sin.”
      However, does that mean that we don’t get tripped up ever again after we’ve come to heart repentance?
      The book of 1 John was written to Believers like us, and yet John says in 1 John 1:7-2:1 “But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us. My little children, these things I write to you, so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous.” New King James Version
      Christian love,
      Tricia

  5. It is good Tricia you want to resolve our differences which the Scripture you shared ” Philippians 3:15 and also1 Corinthians11:19 tells us we are to do this and many others tell us we are not to argue or even agree to disagree , we are to be of the same mind and if we have the mind of Christ we will be in agreement and we will also choose not to sin. The Holy Spirit does not say one thing to one person and something different to another when they contradict.

    I will just respond Tricia to just a few parts of your question at a time because I will use detail to confirm and don’t want to overload you..

    I don’t use any Translation of the Bible that has man’s understanding added to it, although it may clarify some Scripture it is often man’s own thoughts, reasoning and logic and so can be in error.The Translation you use is more of a Commentary and is what the writers believe to be True but as we know Commentaries often differ. All Translations, Concordances etc have man’s errors but except for the Cults versions they are not intended to deceive and God will show us when there is man’s error so we don’t need to worry about being deceived. We can see this in the example below.

    Hebrews 4:12-13 For the Word of God is quick and powerful and sharper than any two edged sword piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit and of the joints and marrow and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart neither is there any creature that is not manifest in His sight but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with whom we have to do. (KJV )

    Translations in error…

    Hebrews 4:12-13 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, ” it ” penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; ” it ” judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of Him to whom we must give account.

    There was no small particles such as… a, it, is, etc in the early Greek therefore the ” it ” in this Translation has been added and is in error which changes it’s True meaning. This Scripture is referring to Jesus Christ the Living Word John 1:1 as we can see in the K.J.V it is not talking about the inspired written word, which has been taught in error. Also there was no punctuation or grammar in the early Greek manuscripts and like some of the Old Testament it was all written in Upper case. We also remember words and their meanings change over time this is why with the empowering of the Holy Spirit we Trust in Jesus to teach us all Truth, having asked for His wisdom.

    When we read 1John 1 in context it tells us that if we walk in darkness or sin we do not know Jesus, so it is not talking about continuing to sin but is referring to our Salvation and if we claim we don’t need Salvation because we haven’t sinned we are calling God a liar. When we come to True heart repentance we are cleansed from all unrighteousness which causes us to sin, we are conformed into the image of Jesus and we walk as He walked, which was in Love and without sin. 1John2:6

    In IJohn3:9 that you shared, the word “cannot ” in the Greek means absolutely never and if we have God’s seed, Nature we can’t sin just the same as He can’t.

    I will continue later I have an appointment to keep Christian Love – Anne.

    • Thanks for responding Anne.
      Christian love,
      Tricia

      • Hi again Tricia, I always respond to genuine questions or needs of others and thankfully God gives us discernment. I was thinking how good it would be if everyone thought what we share was as great as those who write the Spam we receive on our Blog, they also offer some real good advice if you want a pep pill or a loan etc 🙄

        To be honest it is not that important if people disagree with me but is dangerous if they reject God’s Truth in the Scriptures but sadly some don’t even read it or if they do so without Spiritual understanding. 1 Corinthians 2:9-16 I never share what can’t be confirmed as the whole picture ( see Scripture below ) the problem today is that we are only hearing a portion of the Scriptures not all that is needed. We don’t have to earn our Salvation but we will show we have it by our own righteousness even as we are covered by Jesus’.

        No Temptation will be greater than we can bear, Jesus is our way out, but if we do fall into sin before we are perfected in Love, Jesus is also our Advocate when we have True heart repentance, which means we turn away from sin and seek to do good by the empowering of The Holy Spirit we don’t keep sining. Sin is anything that does not come from Faith and Faith is based on Love if we Love God we choose not to sin so we don’t hurt Him or others or even ourselves and He empowers us so we don’t… it is always our choice.

        John 3:2 -7 Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when He shall appear, we shall be like Him; for we shall see Him as He is. And every man that hath this hope in Him purified himself, even as He is pure. Whosoever committeth sin transgresseth also the law: for sin is the transgression of the law. And ye know that He was manifested to take away our sins; and in Him is no sin. Whosoever abideth in Him sinneth not: whosoever sinneth hath not seen Him, neither known Him. Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as He is righteous.

        Am I perfected in Love yet No but I’m aiming for it, I don’t claim I will continue to sin till I die because I know I’m not just human in Christ Jesus, I’m being conformed into His image. I agree with Paul when he said on his journey with The Lord ……

        Philippians 3:12-14 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

        But I’m seeking always with the Lord’s leading and empowering to be able to say the same as Paul did and many other Christians through the ages…

        2 Timothy 4:7-8 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the Faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for His appearing

        We can’t do it by ourselves Tricia that is why Jesus had to die so we would be set free from the slavery of sin and so we could be empowered not to sin as well as be forgiven of our past sins, this is His sanctification nothing less we are to reckon ourselves dead to sin, not keep saying we will sin or not be perfected till we die this is not confirmed in Scripture the opposite is.

        1John 4:16-17 And we have known and believed the Love that God hath to us. God is Love; and he that dwelleth in Love dwelleth in God, and God in him. Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world

        John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

        Romans 6: 22-23 But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life. For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

        Daniel 12:10 Many shall be purified, and made white, and tried; but the wicked shall do wickedly: and none of the wicked shall understand; but the wise shall understand.

        Romans 6:11 Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

        1John 5 18-20 We know that no one who is Born of God sins; but He who was Born of God keeps him, and the evil one does not touch him.

        God tells us we will be Righteous in our actions which shows we have Jesus’ Righteousness below is just some of the Scriptures that confirm this Truth…

        1John 3:7 Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as He is righteous.

        1 John 2:28-29 And now, little children, abide in Him; that, when He shall appear, we may have confidence, and not be ashamed before Him at His coming. If ye know that He is righteous, ye know that every one that doeth righteousness is Born of Him.

        1 Peter 2:24 Who His own self bare our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.

        2 Timothy 2:19-21 Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal, The Lord knoweth them that are His. And, let every one that nameth the Name of Christ depart from iniquity. But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and of earth; and some to honour, and some to dishonour. If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the Master’s use, and prepared unto every good work.

        Ephesians 4:23-24 And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.

        Colossians 2:6 As ye have therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk ye in Him:

        Romans 3:31 Do we then make void the law through Faith? God forbid: yea, we establish the law.

        Romans 2:7-9 To them who by patient continuance in well doing seek for glory and honour and immortality, eternal life: But unto them that are contentious, and do not obey the truth, but obey unrighteousness, indignation and wrath, Tribulation and anguish, upon every soul of man that doeth evil, of the Jew first, and also of the Gentile;

        Romans 6:5-7 For if we have been planted together in the likeness of His death, we shall be also in the likeness of His resurrection: Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin. For he that is dead is freed from sin.

        In other words Tricia, if we continue to sin and this is referring to what God calls sin not our weaknesses and shortcomings or man’s legalism, we are to come to heart repentance, turn from evil and do good by putting our flesh to death and being Born again of God’s seed perfecting us in Love and then we will have the mind of Christ and He never chose to sin.

        Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

