Love Correction

Proverbs 12:1 “To learn, you must love discipline; it is stupid to hate correction.” New Living Translation (NLT)
Dear Heavenly Father,
    I want to be the person You planned for me to be from the beginning. I want to be pure and true to shine Your light to others, strong and useable as a tool You can use, and sharp and focused to serve and honor You well.
    So please teach me to find Your purpose when the refining fires burn, when Your mallet and chisel strike my hardened soul, and when Your hammer pounds the blade of my iron will. O let me not respond with self-pity, anger, frustration or hurt feelings as I’m so prone to do! Let me wisely love correction so You can make me who You desire.   Amen.love discipline 1--Serif Gallery

Proverbs 1:29-31 NLT [Wisdom says,] “For they hated knowledge and chose not to fear the LORD. They rejected my advice and paid no attention when I corrected them. That is why they must eat the bitter fruit of living their own way….”
(I know from experience that such fruit is bitter indeed!)
My own ways seem right and good to me, but they end in trouble and bad consequences. At the time, they seem easier and better than other alternatives, but they aren’t God’s ways, and they aren’t good.
So Father, please forgive me for going my way. Teach me to follow Your path that leads to life. Let me be quick to hear and obey the still small voice that says, “Choose compassion instead of anger. Let go of blaming, bitterness, and trying to control. Take hold of humility, forgiveness, and trust in God.” Amen.

Proverbs 9:12 NLT “If you become wise, you will be the one to benefit. If you scorn wisdom, you will be the one to suffer.”

2 Comments

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives

2 responses to “Love Correction

  1. Carla

    Tricia this is another really good teaching fron you.

Leave a Reply

