My Destiny–to Become Like Jesus

Romans 8:28-29 “…God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son….” New American Standard Bible (NASB)
I’m destined to be conformed to the image of Christ! My destiny is to be molded into His likeness, and God works everything in my life to that end.     Psalm 31:14-15a says in the New Living Translation (NLT), “But I am trusting you, O LORD, saying, ‘You are my God!’ My future is in your hands.” I can trust God to use whatever happens in my life to make me more like Jesus since He has promised to conform me to Christ’s image.
If I want to cooperate in the process, I should listen to the Lord in every circumstance and trust Him, not my own understanding. (Proverbs 3:5-6)
Prov 3_5-6--cropped

I need to learn the lessons He teaches in the difficulties of life. If I’m leaning toward hurt feelings and anger, Jesus instructs me to think humbly, listening to and accepting criticism, and considering others as more important than myself. When I whine because things don’t go my way, Jesus reminds me again to humble myself and respond with genuine love—His love—which is never rude and doesn’t demand its own way. If I want to show off or try to please people, He counsels that He’s the one I’m serving, He’s the one who really loves me and cares for me, and that it’s best for me to submit my human desires to Him and trust His sovereignty.
Jesus said, “Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Matthew 11:29, NLT)
So I can even have peace within while I’m being made like Jesus! Wonderful!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives, Jesus, Scripture Thoughts

Leave a Reply

