Finding Rest for My Soul

Jesus_024         One key to finding rest for my soul, perhaps the major key, is humility. Jesus said, “Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls.” (Matthew 11:29)
Pride, self-focus, and fear of rejection (fear of man—Proverbs 29:25) can make me an approval addict. They may prompt me to try to manipulate others to get my own way. Learning to humble myself instead of letting pride, self, and fear run my life sounds like a step toward more peace for my inner self.
“LORD, my heart is not haughty, nor my eyes lofty; neither do I exercise myself in matters too great or in things too wonderful for me. Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with his mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me [ceased from fretting].” (Psalm 131:1-2) I will be more able to calm and quiet myself if I don’t consider things that are out of my control or that are beyond my understanding.
Oh yes, Lord Jesus! Teach me Your humility and gentleness! Amen.
(Bible verses are from Amplified Bible.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Jesus

Leave a Reply

