Free from the Pit

“For the enemy has persecuted my soul; He has crushed my life to the ground; He has made me dwell in darkness…” (Psalm 143:3). And he has pulled me into his pit of anger, resentment, criticism, and self-pity which lead into and feed the depression I’m prone to.john-7-37 --anyone-thirsts-drink-jesus D Creswell
Romans 12:2 tells me to change the way I think from my old way or the world’s way to God’s kingdom way. God will help me and give me grace to turn away from the enemy’s, kind of thinking. Then I can work at putting Psalm 143:5-6 into practice. It says, “I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands.  I spread out my hands to You; My soul longs for You like a thirsty land.”
I’ll remember “days of old” —and how God has always been with me and had His hand on me no matter what. I’ll muse and meditate on what God has done and on the wonders of creation. I can choose to think about good and praiseworthy things, like God’s goodness to each one of us, His love for every individual, and our right-standing with Himself which He purchased with the blood of His own Son. Then I’ll seek to draw nearer to Him so He can satisfy my thirsty soul with His presence.
“For He satisfies the longing soul, and fills the hungry soul with goodness” (Psalm 107:9).
(Scripture quotes are New King James Version.) (Picture by Darrell Creswell–please take a look at his blog at http://darrellcreswell.wordpress.com/)

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christian, Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives, Scripture Thoughts

4 responses to “Free from the Pit

  1. Good thoughts, Tricia, and great reminders. Sometimes we get down on ourselves and allow Satan to cast our spirit down. Important to be in the Word for daily nourishment for our souls. Shalom

  2. Thank you for your like of my blog, “Search Me, Cleanse Me.” You are very kind.

Leave a Reply

