Free from the Pit–Part 2

I need to “watch and pray” so I won’t enter into temptation (Luke 22:46). I must be on the alert because my adversary the devil roams around like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour (1 Peter 5:8). I’ve let him devour me far too many times by listening to the thoughts he wedges in—thoughts of guilt, failure, regret, anger, and disappointment to name a few. Before long, I’m down in a bog of hopelessness.
I could get out of the bog quicker if I’d remember things like God’s mercies being new every morning and God’s unfailing, eternal love for me and other good things before the evil thoughts start building on themselves.
“We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.” –2 Corinthians 10:5 New American Standard Updated

God Is Good

When I think of Your goodness and all You’ve done for me,
I will speak and sing and shout my praise to Thee.

When I recall Your mercy, Your lovingkindness and Your grace,
I’m filled with longing to forever gaze upon Your face.

When I remember Your love and the greatness of Your power,
Though the enemy oppresses, I know that You are my strong tower.

2 Comments

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Wonderful God

2 responses to “Free from the Pit–Part 2

  1. Beautiful assurance and confirmation Tricia in your words “God Is Good” yes as I shared recently with Betty, I agree with you too, God hears us when we have not built a fleshy wall of sin which blocks our fellowship with Him but He does hear us when we come to heart repentance which is in His will.

    John 9:31 Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God, and doeth His will, him He heareth.

    I also shared Tricia with Betty that there are different types of fear , there is the fear of The Lord, which is Love, Awe and Respect for Him, Than there is fear as protection, we don’t walk too close to the edge of a cliff or swim in shark infected waters and than there is fear from the attacks of Satan that you shared about, he is an accuser but his lies fail to cause fear when we make every thought captive to Christ as you did. Than there is fear when we worry instead of Trusting God. Lastly there is the fear that comes from sinfulness when instead of obeying God people allow their flesh to control them which leads to the fear of torment in Hell, this is way we must put our flesh to death so we don’t sin and so we can be perfected in Love which Paul tells us to aim for.

    Yes God sees us how we will be when we are perfected in Love and conformed into the image of Jesus even before we are conceived but we still need to come to heart repentance and turn from evil and do good by the empowering of The Holy Spirit.

    Romans 8 :12-15 Therefore, brothers/sisters, we have an obligation but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. or if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons/daughters of God.

    1John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

  2. Thanks for your comments and Scriptures, Anne. May God continue to bless and use you.
    Tricia

Leave a Reply

