Countless Gifts of Love

gift 1 from serif galry    Psalm 33:1 “Let the godly sing for joy to the Lord; it is fitting for the pure to praise him.” New Living Translation  (NLT)
I’m troubled by disappointment sometimes. Things don’t turn out like I’d thought or hoped. People don’t do what I think is good or what I’d expected or wished.
The answer for me today is Psalm 63:3 and 5: “Because Thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips will praise Thee. 5 My soul is satisfied as with marrow and fatness, and my mouth offers praises with joyful lips.” New American Standard Bible
Father, because Your love and kindness is better than life itself, and You lavish that on me, my soul will be more than satisfied (one translation says “satisfied as with the richest foods) even when people and things disappoint. Amen.

So many gifts from God—
I cannot count them all,
But I can make a start.
I’ll list both great and small.

How can I draw closer, Lord?
How can I love You more
And give glory You are due?
I’ll consider all I have to thank You for.

Psalm 107:8-9 “Oh, that men would give thanks to the Lord for His goodness, and for His wonderful works to the children of men! 9 For He satisfies the longing soul, and fills the hungry soul with goodness.” New King James Version
Yes, I do want to have a continual attitude of gratitude because of all God has done. He is truly good. I see it more and more. He satisfies my longing soul as I believe and trust Him more. He fills my hungry soul with goodness as I hunger and thirst after righteousness. (Matthew 5:6)
1 Thessalonians 5:18 “ Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.” NLT
The title for this post comes from the hymn “Now Thank We All Our God” written by Martin Rinkart. A beautiful video of the hymn is on YouTube at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TA9cQ5X87P4 . (An ad precedes the video.)

2 Comments

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Poems and Songs, Scripture Thoughts

2 responses to “Countless Gifts of Love

  1. Wonderful to see you heart focus Tricia and I agree we can never stop thanking God, His blessings just continually overflow.

    Love, Joy and Many Blessings for Christmas Tricia and for the New year.

    Christmas Love from us both – Anne.

Leave a Reply

