He Satisfies Our Deepest Thirst

Bible-text- pub dom pic -Petr Kratochvil    Nehemiah 8:12 “And all the people went their way to eat and drink, to send portions and rejoice greatly, because they understood the words that were declared to them [the Book of the Law of Moses].”
Yes, what reason for rejoicing—to hear and understand God’s Word! (The people in this verse understood because the leaders and Levites “gave the sense and helped them to understand the reading….” –Nehemiah 8:8)
Thank You, Father, for the insight You give me into Your Word by Your Holy Spirit and by good teachers who “give the sense and help me understand.” Amen.
I’m reminded of a hymn we sang at church when I was a youth. The first verse says, “… Beyond the sacred page I seek Thee, Lord; My spirit pants for Thee, O living Word.”* The song in turn reminds me of Psalm 42:1-2, “As the deer pants for the water brooks, So pants my soul for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God….”
The “sacred page,” God’s written Word leads us to Jesus, the Living Word, and He satisfies our deepest thirst. break bread- pub dom pics- Gustavo Di Nucci

 

*“Break Thou the Bread of Life” by Mary Ann Lathbury and William F. Sherwin. Music and lyrics at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp8oi0qjanU. More information about the hymn at http://www.lectionary.org/HymnStories/Break%20Thou%20the%20Bread%20of%20Life.htm
(Pictures public domain courtesy of http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/hledej.php?hleda=Bible&x=24&y=16     Bread picture by Gustavo Di Nucci; Bible picture by Petr Kratochvil.)
(Scripture quotes are New King James Version.)

5 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christian, Scripture, Scripture Thoughts

5 responses to “He Satisfies Our Deepest Thirst

  1. Thank you for sharing Tricia, I’m like a Berean I check what others share and if not confirmed in Scripture I reject it, the same as those who treat me rudely especially with Blogging. I don’t read their messages, they show they are not walking in The Spirit so there is no value in what they share no matter how good it sounds, anyway we are to do unto others how we want them to do to us so they must like being ignored too.

    But I don’t go to a man or a woman for conformation on God’s Truth anyway, although I do very much enjoy others sharing it with whatever way they use to do so, it gives us Unity. But I always go to Jesus our only Teacher who is leading me into all Truth and knowledge. I asked for and received God’s wisdom and empowering, we are not born with them and we cannot fully understand God’s Truth in His inspired words without them, they are His heart thoughts, His guidelines, His motivation, His all consuming Love and will for us… (1Corinthians2:9-16) can I be deceived No! I can’t be but I do recognise deception. True Anointed Teachers and Evangelists share God’s Truth not their own, we are warned that worldly study it wearies the soul.

    Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

    James 1:5-6 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord. A double minded man is unstable in all his ways.

    Luke 11:13 ….. how much more shall your Heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask Him?

    I would also like to affirm Tricia, that I never encourage others to follow me but to follow Jesus, if a Congregation is not listening to a Pastor Preach than there is no empowering of The Holy Spirit, God uses the foolishness of Preaching but we need to test the spirit of whoever seeks to teach us, just because they believe something to be True does not make it so as we see with all the different Denominations.

    The Holy Spirit does not say one thing to one person and something different to someone else if they contradict and it was because of this that I questioned the contradictions I was hearing through Sermons, Devotions, books, Tapes and Videos and because of a lot of the error and contradictions on the Internet including from well known Theologians and Evangelists etc differences do matter we are to be of one mind not divided. We can read 6 books and not one will have God’s Truth in all details, sad but True and it’s the same with Blogs.

    1 John 2:27- But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man/woman teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is Truth, and is no lie,and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in Him.”

    Matthew 23:8-10 But you, do not be called ‘Rabbi’; for One is your Teacher, the Christ, and you are all brethren. Do not call anyone on earth your father; for One is your Father, He who is in Heaven. And do not be called Teachers; for One is your Teacher, the Christ. NKJV

    Colossians 2 :2 -3 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in Love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

    1John 5:20 And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know Him that is True, and we are in Him that is True, even in His Son Jesus Christ. This is the True God, and eternal life.

    Psalm 32:8I will instruct you and teach you in the way you shall go. I will guide you with Mine eye.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV)

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne.

    • Thank you for commenting and sharing the Bible verses, Anne. Christ gave the church pastors and teachers (Ephesians 4:11-12 “And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers; 12 For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ”), and I have personally benefited from the instruction of those who also are being led into all truth by the Holy Spirit.
      Christian love,
      Tricia

      • As I shared Tricia; I do enjoy others sharing God’s Truth in the gifting He has given them and if they are empowered by The Holy Spirit and lead by Jesus our only Teacher, than what they share will be His Truth and we do have Babs in Christ and those who haven’t come to heart repentance so they do need instruction but it must never be for others to depend on them but on Jesus Christ.

        But if they are Trusting in what they think or have been told without Scriptural confirmation and the leading of The Holy Spirit, they will be deceived and will deceive others, which happens more than once in Churches and on Blogs, this is why I always test the Spirit of those who seek to teach us, their words and actions will reveal where their heart focus is, if there is no genuine Love and just fleshy pride, I move on! How they Treat us is how they are treating Jesus.

        I also don’t call God a Liar Tricia or at best claim He does not keep His promises, many do this because they show by their actions and words that they don’t really believe what He tells us in the Scriptures but perhaps in their fleshy pride they don’t even read them or if they do they don’t have God’s wisdom or The Holy Spirit’s empowering so they don’t understand them- 1Corinthians2:9-16.

        I have no doubt Tricia that what I share is God’s Truth and anyone who says something that contradicts what I share is in error, how do I know this because I did ask and receive God’s wisdom and empowering, we are not born with them and Jesus is leading me into all Truth as confirmed in the Scriptures and this is not just for me but for all who have Faith. Please read the Scriptures I have shared with you again Tricia with understanding and you will see I’m not in error.

        Christian Love – Anne.

        • Did someone say you were in error? I’m sorry if I or someone else gave you that impression. Certainly everyone needs to confirm teaching they hear with Scripture and depend on the Holy Spirit for understanding God’s Word. And God’s wisdom is vital in every area. And indeed people must follow Christ and not other people, although Paul did say to imitate him as he imitated Christ (1 Corinthians 11:1). My only point is that even though I’ve asked for and received God’s wisdom in many things, I haven’t yet received ALL of His wisdom about everything. Also, I’m being LED into all truth. I don’t have it all already. Yes, the Holy Spirit teaches me, and sometimes He uses other people to put things into words that I hadn’t grasped yet.
          I hope this clarifies my response to your comment.
          Christian love,
          Tricia

  2. I think yours was a great response Tricia, I’m also still learning but like you I don’t doubt it is Truth what Jesus has revealed to me through the empowering of The Holy Spirit and He has confirmed it 100% through Scripture but to be honest, I have had others who claim to be Spirit filled ignore and delete my comments including some of those who you re-blogged.

    I don’t care who they are or what title and position they have, rudeness and arrogance in Christians is unacceptable. This is why I have decided Tricia to only respond to your own messages which have always blessed me, yes it is other peoples choice if they respond to those who comment on their Posts but it is also my choice not to be hurt by them again, Blogging is a conversation not a one person show, if they can’t support their objections to what I share with Scripture, than they are the ones in error and I would find their messages empty and very lacking because they do not walk in The Spirit of Love .

    Paul was affirming that it is Jesus example they were to follow as he was doing not that they follow him literally but what he taught, which he confirmed in 1Corinthians 2:4-16. What he taught came from God not himself, he also confirmed this when he warned about division in the Church.

    1 Corinthians 1:12-15 Now this I say, that every one of you saith, I am of Paul; and I of Apollos; and I of Cephas; and I of Christ. Is Christ divided? was Paul crucified for you? or were ye Baptized in the name of Paul? I thank God that I Baptized none of you, but Crispus and Gaius; Lest any should say that I had baptized in mine own name.

    2 Corinthians 4: 5 For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake.(KJV)

    Blessings – Anne

Leave a Reply

