Is That Right?

A learning handicap hindered my educational growth for a long time. No one recognized it. I didn’t see its devastating effects until just recently. I actually did quite well in school. I also did very well in Sunday School classes and Bible studies. Who would have thought I had any kind of learning problem?
Ah, but I did have a problem. In my education, I learned very little of how to use information I was given. Yes, I learned the basics (reading, writing, arithmetic, good grammar, and other things). I gained some practical skills such as how to drive a car and how to type. In the church world, I caught on quickly to the Christian lingo, came to know much Scripture, and figured out how to come up with the “right” answers to the questions that were asked.

A-plus paper     This “coming up with the right answers” idea hints at my “learning disability.” My problem was that many times I got what I aimed for, but I shot at the wrong target. Often my aim wasn’t to learn, but rather to get the right answers, to get a good grade, to prove my intelligence, get someone’s approval, etc. Therefore, although I reached these goals, I didn’t learn to apply or go beyond what I learned in school. In church, my knowledge of God’s Word was mostly “head knowledge” rather than “heart knowledge” that would have helped me mature in Christ-likeness.
Even after I saw what I was doing, I had trouble changing. Little by little, though,  God has changed me. I find that now when I do Bible study or even just read my Bible, I’m listening for what the Holy Spirit wants to point out, and I’m seeking to really learn from God.
I’m truly grateful to God for helping me grow in Christ in spite of my too-often off-target aim. And I’m even more grateful that He gradually delivers me from the binding chains of my unworthy goals so I can progress more rapidly in His school.
Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.”  1 Peter 2:2 “As newborn babes, desire the pure milk of the word, that you may grow thereby.”  ( Both New King James Version)

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, God's Work in our Lives

Leave a Reply

