Yes, I Can!

Yes, I can obey God’s Word! I’m through telling myself the “I can’t” lie. Sometimes, when I would read a Scripture portion or verse, I would say internally, “God says to do  _________, but I really can’t. So I’ll just skip that part and look for something I can do. For example, I would read Philippians 4:8 (“Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy — meditate on these things.”). Then I’d think, Well, yes, but you know I’ve tried to think on these good things, and I really can’t. Other thoughts always take over. Then my mind runs wild, and I fall back into a negative outlook.

    I repent. No more “I can’t.” No more excuses. I will choose to listen to the truth that by the power of the Holy Spirit I can obey God. I will choose life, not death. (Deuteronomy 30:19 “I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live.”)
(Scripture quotes are New King James.)

2 Comments

Filed under Christian, Christian Living, Scripture

2 responses to “Yes, I Can!

  1. Yes it’s True Tricia as you shared, we all have emotions and their not Sin but what we do about them can be, anger can lead us to holding onto bittiness and resentment and to seek revenge, worrying about money can lead us to steeling and having worldly pride, to us rejecting others who we think don’t measure up to our standards.

    God does not condemn us but encourages us to seek Him with all our Heart so we can focus on what is good, we are no longer Spiritually Blind.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    • Thank you for commenting, Anne. You are right that what we do about our emotions can lead to sin. And I hadn’t thought about the truth that focusing on what is good opens our spiritual eyes.

Leave a Reply

